Vital wheat gluten is a naturally occurring protein found in wheat that is often used to make seitan. It is also a common ingredient in bread recipes to help the dough rise. Historically, seitan is popular in a lot of Asian countries. It is said that wheat gluten emerged as an edible product when it was first used as an ingredient in Chinese noodles in the sixth century. The commercial productions and sales of wheat gluten in seitan form was started in 1962 by Marushima Shoyu Co., it’s a company which created the seitan product for George Ohsawa and his students. Meanwhile, if you prefer more modern meat substitutes, we recommend you to visit immediately.

Seitan can be found in a lot of vegetarian dishes today, especially in China and south-east Asian countries. It is very popular as a meat substitute for Buddhist vegetarians and is also found in many pre-made products such as mock duck, meatless beef jerky, vegetarian hamburger mix, and seitan bacon.

Although seitan is high in protein, it can also have other questionable ingredients that could reduce its nutritional properties. So how many seitan? While ordering it at a restaurant occasionally is fine, maybe it shouldn’t be a staple in your diet. If you wish to avoid excessive sodium and added ingredients, you might want to prefer making your own seitan at home instead of buying it on the store.

If you are sensitive to gluten, have celiac disease, or follow a gluten-free diet, avoid seitan. Those who are allergic to wheat should also avoid it. Swelling, itching, diarrhea, cramps, and also stomach pain are common symptoms of seitan allergy.

Also, seitan should not be used as the only source of protein in vegetarian and vegan diets. Make sure your diet includes other plant proteins such as tempeh, natto, nuts, and nutritional yeast to get a variety of nutrients and optimize your diet.